Happy Easter and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
154 user(s) are online (89 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 153

Packard Newbie, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

parts availability for pre-war models?
Just popping in
Just popping in

megamotorhead
See User information
I've got a few broad questions for you experienced Packard folks. I'm an experienced "old car guy" who's considering whether to dive into the Packard world, and if so, which one. But first, I need to know about the parts situation.

Now, I've been messing with '55-57 Chevys for about 25 years. I can take one apart and put it back together. I know what's correct and what isn't, down to finding discrepancies between various pieces of factory documentation.

But - I've got this thing for pre-war Packards.

True story: When I go to a car show like the big AACA show in Hershey, PA, I'm always careful to walk down each row instead of skipping around. But - when at Hershey, I've been known to walk right by a Duesenberg to go look at a Packard. This has happened more than once. So, I guess I know what I like!

For purposes of this discussion, let's focus on 2 groups of Packards: those built around 1929-32, and those from about 1936-39.

In both cases, I prefer the smaller Packards - the earlier 626, 633, 733, etc. and the later 110, 115, and 120 (depending on whether you want a 6 or 8 cylinder). For years, I've tended to be drawn to the late '30s models, but in recent years, the late '20s/early '30s ones are really catching my eye. Hence the following question.