Happy Easter and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
141 user(s) are online (80 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 3
Guests: 138

DavidM, 39Rollson, Plugs1, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

« 1 ... 26 27 28 (29) 30 31 32 ... 144 »

Re: KPack's 1954 Panama
Home away from home
Home away from home

kevinpackard
See User information
Thanks Ross. The more I dig into the issue, the more things are making sense. I'm new to all this, and hearing the loud tapping and loss of two cylinders made me worried about a more dire situation.

So there's no harm is letting the lifter hit the stuck valve until it becomes unstuck? That's my only hangup right now.

And a quart of oil to a full tank of gas? Does that foul the plugs at all? I expect it'll smoke a bit.

-Kevin

Posted on: 2020/9/17 9:57
 Top  Print 

Home away from home
Home away from home

John
See User information
It'll thin out the mosquitoes in the neighborhood...

Posted on: 2020/9/17 12:08
 Top  Print 

Home away from home
Home away from home

Ross
See User information
Our old two-stroke Saabs ( the only cars in 65 years of driving my mother said she loved) took a quart of oil for each 8 gallons of gas. Of course they made smoke, but then each Tesla battery represents MANY tons of mine tailings, so its about a horse apiece on the environmental impact.

The usual scenario with a stuck intake is that the engine will be clattering nastily til it warms up enough and the valve starts to move a little bit. Then in the space of 10 seconds the noise level diminishes and finally the engine picks up the two cylinders.