Happy Easter and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
146 user(s) are online (96 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 145

kevinpackard, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

« 1 (2) 3 4 »

Re: In-Car Rebuild
Home away from home
Home away from home

JeromeSolberg
See User information
From what I understand the standard procedure is to remove the ridge from the top of the cylinder and then unbolt the rods from the crankshaft and pull out through the top. Seems pretty common, especially in the past, but I've never done it before!

Posted on: 2020/8/26 13:30
 Top  Print 

Home away from home
Home away from home

JeromeSolberg
See User information
Expanding on your original question:

It says in the Packard 1948-54 shop manual that you can pull the pistons out through the top, it also says this in the 1955 Motors manual I have.

The prewar Super-8 engine was a different design, from what i understand. I have a Motors manual from 1948 (the bookseller shipped me the wrong one and said "keep it") and it says for those engines (and the V-12) the procedure would be to push the pistons up enough to get the piston pin out, remove the piston through the top, and the rod from below, it also says "best done warm".

Posted on: 2020/8/26 13:43
 Top  Print 

Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Owen_Dyneto
See User information
Engines that require the piston to be removed from the top and the connecting rod from below are those where the big end of the rod is larger than the cylinder bore, as in the prewar 320 cubic inch Eight/Super Eight.

Posted on: 2020/8/26 13:57
 Top  Print