Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
137 user(s) are online (97 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 135

R H, Joe, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

'52 327 Carter WGD rebuild or switch to WCFB 4 barrel
Quite a regular
Quite a regular

Thunderbolt
See User information
I've been driving the '52 300 for several months now and noticed its not performing as well as it should. It seems the accelerator pump gets stuck sometimes and then it will suddenly kick in. The engine also stalls out like a light when I go full throttle. Additionally the gas mileage has been poor.

I want to rebuild the 2 barrel WGD but I got to thinking it may run better with the 4 barrel. Would the 4 barrel from a 1953 work on a 1952? Would the 4 barrel give the same gas mileage? And do I need the manifold or anytging else to convert to 4 barrels? Thank you all for the help.

John

Posted on: 2014/7/21 8:49
 Top  Print   

Re: '52 327 Carter WGD rebuild or switch to WCFB 4 barrel
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Owen_Dyneto
See User information
A good carburetor rebuild is perhaps in order, but first why not check the manifold vacuum at idle - what you describe can be the result of a vacuum leak, at the distributor vacuum advance or elsewhere (manifold gaskets, vacuum booster pump, wiper hose connections, etc. An engine in good mechanical internal condition and in a good state of tune should give 18-20 inches of vacuum at idle.

Posted on: 2014/7/21 9:07
 Top  Print   

Quite a regular
Quite a regular

Thunderbolt
See User information