Happy Easter and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
101 user(s) are online (61 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 99

pmhowe, Frogmagic, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

Cylinder Compression Questions
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

50 2382
See User information
I'm a newbie and have just acquired a 1950 2382-5 Super 8 with the 327cu in engine. It won't run...otherwise it is in very good condition body wise and poor condition interior wise.

Question 1. What should normal compression be in the cylinders. All mine hover around 40-50 psi even after dumping oil in the cylinders. I suspect stuck valves...opinions please.

Question 2.I need a good source for a shop manual as it looks like the 327 is going to come out if I can't get the compression up.

Thanks!

Attach file:

jpg  (109.93 KB)
75249_5466818010ec4.jpg 1280X960 px

Posted on: 2014/11/14 17:24
 Top  Print 

Re: Cylinder Compression Questions
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

HH56
See User information
Congratulations and welcome. Believe around 100psi +/- has been given as a workable number for a decent condition engine. Varies a little depending on the compression ratio. Stuck valves are a good possibility if the engine has been sitting a long time.