Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
132 user(s) are online (94 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 3
Guests: 129

acolds, CarFreak, Alvin14, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

Engine Noises - 1952 Packard Touring Sedan
Just popping in
Just popping in

Jay M
See User information
I have taken a video of the engine running for the first time on non-ethanol gas athttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f7ImCdmCrVQ&feature=em-upload_owner I am a newbie to cars in general and older cars for sure so I would appreciate anyone watching it and giving they're input. I think the noise is the valves (stuck) and am unsure if the other noise is normal or not but I do not want to damage the engine.
If the valves are stuck and if I understand Rusty O/'Toole in my previous Ethanol post (Thanks Rusty) this is a common problem. Going with Rusty's suggestion I think I should put some Marvel Mystery Oil, Redex, Bardhal or your favorite upper cylinder lubricant to the gas and run it daily to see if it helps as the car has been sitting for some time. My questions are how much should I mix with how many gallons non ethanol gas and how long should I let it idle each day as I cannot drive due to rust issues.
Thanks for any help. -Jay

Posted on: 2015/5/22 21:20
 Top  Print   

Re: Engine Noises - 1952 Packard Touring Sedan
Home away from home
Home away from home

Wesley Boyer
See User information