Happy Easter and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
106 user(s) are online (69 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 105

JW49, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

Removing a 51 from an old garage
Just popping in
Just popping in

Gus2015
See User information
I'm new to Packards having previously restored MGs and a Corvette. a coworker's father recently passed away and he is giving me his father's 1951. I went and looked at the situation. The car has been sitting for 35 years in a single car garage with about two foot of clearance at the sides and rear. Needless to say the tires are flat and rotted. I need to get it on some good tires and then winch it out of the garage. I'm looking for some advice on how to best jack the car up to removed the wheels in this restricted space. My plan is to use jackstands to support the car while I get tires mounted.

I currently have a floor jack but if a bumper jack is the better way to go I can purchase one.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Glen

Posted on: 2016/8/10 12:21
 Top  Print 

Re: Removing a 51 from an old garage
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Cli55er
See User information
if it was me I would hook it up to my truck and drag it out with the flats and then change the tires when it is out of the garage. any 1/2 ton truck should drag it right out.

Posted on: 2016/8/10 12:27
1937 Packard 138-CD Deluxe Touring Limousine
Maroon/Black 1090-1021
[url=http://packardinfo.com/xoops/html/modules/registry/View.php?ID=232]1955 Packard
 Top  Print 

Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Owen_Dyneto