Happy Easter and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
141 user(s) are online (80 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 141

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

6 volt to 12 volt conversion with positive ground
Just popping in
Just popping in

randyd
See User information
1938 Packard Model 6 business coupe has been converted. I have had a new fuel tank fabricated and now need to purchase a new fuel sending unit. What is absolutely the simplest solution on getting the proper replacement for the fuel sending unit. I am not a mechanic but I assume the replacement sending units online will not work since the system has been converted. Again simple as possible I know my mechanical limitations, Thanks!

Posted on: 2020/9/14 11:01
 Top  Print 

Re: 6 volt to 12 volt conversion with positive ground
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

HH56
See User information
According to the 38-39 combo shop manual the 38 gauges were most likely Stewart-Warner and the issue you will have with modern senders is none still use the old S-W resistance range which in 38 was probably the same 100 ohms empty, 0 ohms full as was used by other S-W supplied Packard gauges thru 47. Because other brand gauges were also used for other Packard models in those years you might want to verify which brand gauge is in your car since the resistance value may not be the same. Usually but not always the brand name is stamped on the back of the gauge.