Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
94 user(s) are online (60 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 92

Rich49, BigKev, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 3 »

1941 power windows
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

ineffabill
See User information
Hello to all, this is my first post to the Packard forum. I'm a mechanic, & I'm looking for help in repairing a "shop project", a 1941 180 Touring Sedan (model 1907).
To date I have performed a "light" engine overhaul, radiator rebuild, new chassis wiring harness, & new brake hydraulics.
Currently I am repairing the power window system. It needs cylinders, solenoids, & hoses. The pump wasn't as bad as I expected for 70 years of brake fluid exposure. BUT, I did have to fabricate a seat for the relief valve due to heavy pitting. Now I need to dial it in.
My question is this, what is the maximum pressure that the pump should produce? Right now I have 85-90 psi "deadhead". That sounds way too high - I'd get about 300 lbs force from the cylinder.
Thanks - Any help is appreciated.

Posted on: 2011/1/24 18:12
 Top  Print   

Re: 1941 power windows
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

HH56
See User information
120-130 psi and in reverse, a vacuum of 15-18 inches per service counselor Vol 14 #19https://www.packardinfo.com/xoops/html/downloads/SC/SL-VOL14NO19.pdf There is an introductory description and some basic specs and testing info in that article as well.

Posted on: 2011/1/24 18:24
Howard
 Top  Print   

Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

ineffabill
See User information