Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
129 user(s) are online (86 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 129

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 3 »

356 & 359 info and choices.
Quite a regular
Quite a regular

Scienceaddict
See User information
I'm pretty new to the whole forum world, so if I did something wrong, inform me.

I bought a 1940 120 back in February, with the 282 being a boat anchor. As a result, when a set of post war 8s came up for sale in Warren, with an overdrive trans as well, I jumped on it despite no idea of displacement. 500 bucks later, it turns out I now have a 356 with the r11 Overdriven 3spd, and an early 359 with a '53 thunderbolt 288 head on it, out of an automatic car.

The research I've done online suggests the 359 would have rediculous compression with that head (9.38:1), but I've also been told directly that it'd have lower compression than stock. How can I determine for sure?

Educate me on the motors. I've read that the 356 is a really great engine, but I've not read particularly why. From what I've read, the 359 really sounds like the penultimate flathead 8. I've also been told the 359 had some variations, this is no. 907 cast in 53 so I'd imagine it's of the earliest rendition.

Which setup would be the least resistance (cost/effort) to get the car on the road? I would like to eventually have the 359 with the Overdrive manual be the final combo, but I want to get it running and driving asap, perfecting everything can come later.