Happy Easter and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
109 user(s) are online (69 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 109

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

1948 Packard Super Eight Misfire and lifter tacket
Quite a regular
Quite a regular

Icarus
See User information
Hello! Last month, I bought a 1948 Packard Super Eight LWB that needed some love and a good home. It's got what I think are a few issues, but coming from diesels I really don't know (I've no experience with flatheads):

1) the exhaust makes a fairly regular put-put-put sound, which my gut tells me is a misfire (it occasionally doubles up too)

2) the engine has what sounds to me like minor lifter noise, a regular "tackatackatack" sort of thing.

3) when originally purchased, the motor was overfull with what felt like 0w20 oil, about a quart's worth. Smelled like gas, too.

Originally I thought #3 was due to a bad fuel pump, but after doing some reading I found out that some people overfill their Packard v8s to quiet lifter noise. Again, my gut says these are all related issues (likely a stuck valve or something like that), but I really have no idea. I've no idea what the oil pressure is, and the odo (for what it's worth) reads 97k.

Any input would be much appreciated!

Posted on: 2022/8/26 18:56
-1948 Packard Super Deluxe Eight LWB
 Top  Print 

Re: 1948 Packard Super Eight Misfire and lifter tacket
Home away from home
Home away from home

Ross
See User information