Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
86 user(s) are online (54 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 85

Ozstatman, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

Ultramatic Oil
Home away from home
Home away from home

John
See User information
What do you use now a days in the Packard Ultramatic Transmission for oil?

John

Posted on: 2015/6/22 21:52
 Top  Print   

Re: Ultramatic Oil
Home away from home
Home away from home

PackardV8
See User information
Many will cry fowl but i've been using Dexron-Mercon in my 56 Executive for over 15 years and 25K miles. NO PROBLEMS!

In fact, i buy the CHEAPEST Dex-merc i can findd usualy at a local d"dollar store" called Freds here in TN.

Posted on: 2015/6/22 22:05
VAPOR LOCK demystified: See paragraph SEVEN of PMCC documentaion as listed in post #11 of the following thread:f
https://packardinfo.com/xoops/html/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=7245
 Top  Print   

Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Owen_Dyneto
See User information
Almost all the Ultramatic folks in my area use Type F, though those with converter clutches that "moo" or groan have reported some improvement with B&M's "Trick Shift".

Posted on: 2015/6/22 22:17
 Top  Print   

Home away from home
Home away from home

Don Shields
See User information
You'll probably see a variety of recommendations here. Some will say GM's Dexron, others will say Ford's Mercon. I've been using a fluid marked "Dexron III/Mercon" and it seems to work fine. Hopefully that's the best of both oils.