Happy Easter and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
109 user(s) are online (69 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 108

John Iaccino, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 7 »

Re: JD's 1941 180 Limousine
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Owen_Dyneto
See User information
I have zero experience with the hydraulics, but just from general experience I don't think a seal would last and perform for long on that shaft. I guess the traditional solutions would be to spray-metalize or electroplate to oversize and machine back to standard. If the worn section were on the far end then cutting undersize and sleeving would work, but i can't see how you'd do that now, unless you machined the entire shaft undersize and used a full-length sleeve. I'll bet the shaft is hardened as well. I wonder if any super-hard polymerics might work on that section? If so, one could knurl that section to promote adhesion of the polymer.

Posted on: 2010/11/19 9:58
 Top  Print 

Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

HH56
See User information
I pretty much agree with O_D on longevity but it might be worth getting some fine grit crocus cloth--not emery cloth--and oil, then spin the shaft while doing the polish and see how much it will smooth out. If there is an improvement and no deep pits and if a seal can be found with the lip resting in a slightly different spot, it may work.

http://www.goodson.com/store/template/product_detail.php?IID=3140

Posted on: 2010/11/19 10:04
 Top  Print 

Home away from home
Home away from home

JWL
See User information