Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
239 user(s) are online (173 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 237

John Wogec, John Sauser, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

Writing an article of Packard Plant
Just popping in
Just popping in

BigBlockHead
See User information
Dear all,

I am a Finnish student, studying in Michigan (Kettering University) currently. While I am here, I am writing automotive related articles for Finnish classic car magazine.
RogerDetroit encouraged me to join the discussion forum and ask more plant related question.

First of all, I was trying to find a publication (book for example) that would tell more about the plant's history. I have a book called "How Detroit became the Automotive Capital", but it has just a very quick overview of Packard.
I was told that Packard Cormorant magazine #137 (Winter 2009) has a story about the plant, but I have not managed to find it online. There's a guy on ebay who has lot of the old Cormorant numbers, but not this one. Skillman archives should have it, but I probably can't borrow it from there? So, If anyone wants to sell theirs, it would be great.

Second, are there any old Packard dealership buildings left in Detroit area?

I have already visited the plant couple times, and will probably go again, but I need to locate some on old photos. If someone knows where they are I would be very thankful!
I found the photos from Skillman library's online archives. I will apologize in advance, cause I will probably ad more photos later as I search further what they have!