Happy St. Patty's Day and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
23 user(s) are online (15 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 23

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

55 400 lower windshield trim
Home away from home
Home away from home

happy
See User information
The 55 400 that I have been working for the last ten years, is near completion.
The lower windshield stainless trim refuses to lock into the rubber seal. The top and side trim pieces do. When I have tried to pull up on the cording as recommended in the service manual while pressing on the trim the rubber won't enter the lip on the trim piece.

Happy

Posted on: 2022/1/15 16:09
 Top  Print 

Re: 55 400 lower windshield trim
Home away from home
Home away from home

humanpotatohybrid
See User information
Been dealing with a similar issue with the top outside trim on the back window on my '55. The windshields on these cars all just seem needlessly finicky and difficult. For my back top outside trim, the service manual recommends putting it on before the window goes in. But then you can't really get the window in... at least using the original stiffer rubber.

Are you using original/NOS rubber or new rubber?

Posted on: 2022/1/15 16:52
'55 400. Needs aesthetic parts put back on, and electrical system sorted.
'55 Clipper Deluxe. Engine is stuck-ish.
 Top  Print 

Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

HH56
See User information
If you are using new Steele weatherstrip that may be part of the issue because IMO, it is a softer rubber than the original and does not hold the moulding very well.