Happy Easter and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
126 user(s) are online (83 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 3
Guests: 123

John Sauser, BlackBeerd, BigKev, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

Shifting 1205
Quite a regular
Quite a regular

glentre
See User information
Newbie here with a 1205 and curious about shifting. I cannot shift from first to second without double clutching or it will grind gears. No double clutching required from second to third or downshifting from third to second. Also, from second to first gear after stopping requires about ten seconds or so before it will go into first without grinding. Do I have a bad transmission or is this normal for the 1205?

Glen

Posted on: 2022/5/22 16:36
 Top  Print 

Re: Shifting 1205
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Owen_Dyneto
See User information
What you are experiencing in your first -to-second shift is NOT normal, your synchronizers are failing to function as designed. The reasons could include insufficient or improper viscosity gear oil, worn or improperly adjusted synchronizers, or a combination of both. What type and viscosity gear oil are you using?

The second-to-first gear change after a stop is not synchronized and your issue can be relieved to some extent by use of a heavier gear oil, though in part it is a nature of the design. Just shift to second for an instant to stop the gear spin, or just learn to wait the few seconds.