Happy Easter and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
109 user(s) are online (72 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 107

pmhowe, 29tons, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

Ideas for engine cutting out under load.
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

Redhexagon
See User information
I have a lot of experience with 1960's and newer cars, but not with Packards. I want to run my problem and thought process past you folks who have more Packard-specific experience than I do to see if I'm headed in the right direction for these specific cars.

My 1955 352 cuts out under load. Sometimes I can blow up hills at 70 mph with all the power in the world, and other times I cannot hold 40 mph on a level. It's getting worse, too. It actually stalled in traffic last week and refused to restart. All it would do was cough and spit on the starter, but it would not catch and run. I let it cool down for an hour with the hood open, primed the carburetor with a bottle of fuel, and got it started. It ran perfectly so long as I kept my speed down: I had to limp home at 40 mph like there was an egg under the throttle pedal or else it would cut out. I thought it was vapor lock, but it was only 60 degrees outside!!! I have never in my life seen a car vapor lock in weather that cool.

- I rebuilt the carburetor and distributor before I ever drove this car outside of my driveway for the first time.

- I've tried three different mechanical fuel pumps with no effect.