Happy Easter and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
160 user(s) are online (91 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 159

humanpotatohybrid, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

1939 Six/1700 Overdrive Issue?
Home away from home
Home away from home

CCR
See User information
Ok, this may seem like an odd question but I'm still learning my car a bit (only had it a few months now). I am not sure if I am my overdrive kickdown is not engaging or I'm just living with a poor memory.

When I am driving, I seem to recall hearing/feeling the kickdown a bit more pronounced around 30 mph when I engaged it after easing off the gas. I ended up not being able to drive for a month (various reasons) and now I am not sure if I imagined the way the kickdown was running before or if it isn't working/engaging.

Question 1: Is the change as obvious as I remembered? The car still goes say 45 mph and while it sounds like it's running a little high, it's quiet enough I can't sense it's running super hard (cf. like running in 2nd above 20 mph).

Question 2: If my memory is right, tips for checking, unsticking, etc.? I'm also a mechanical novice so being super descriptive and talking a bit "down to me" is appreciated.

Posted on: 2023/1/16 19:58
 Top  Print 

Re: 1939 Six/1700 Overdrive Issue?
Home away from home
Home away from home

West Peterson
See User information
You should hear a noticeable difference in engine speed. Just like changing gears from third to fourth.

Question #2 I leave to people like Pat Mescher.

Posted on: 2023/1/17 8:00
West Peterson