Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
231 user(s) are online (145 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 231

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

1955 rear axle service...guidance needed
Home away from home
Home away from home

ScottG
See User information
This is my first time performing a rear axle shaft bearing service on my '55 Clipper Custom. While I've followed the service manual's directions to the letter, I'm not really comfortable with how things are coming together and hope to obtain some feedback from those who have gone down this road before.

As background, I have no history on the last time the rear axle was serviced. At the time I pulled things apart I was experiencing an intermittent grinding noise coming from the left rear drum during braking. My initial inspection revealed that the bottom edge of the secondary brake shoe was touching the drum just enough to polish the tiny rivets that are arrayed along the circumference of the underside of the brake drum. I figured one of three things may be wrong: 1) the hold-down hardware was fatigued and allowing too much in-and-out movement of the shoes; 2) the end play of the axle shaft was out of spec; or 3) the drum was warped. With this in mind, I decided to address the issues regarding the brake hardware and axle end-play first.