Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
258 user(s) are online (164 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 256

BigKev, Phat Jonny, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

Tips at buying a Packard
Just popping in
Just popping in

zethreal
See User information
Hello,
I'm new to the world of Packards and am going to be looking at one this weekend. I was wondering if there is anything Packard-specific that I should be looking for as a sign that the car has a lot of problems. I know the normal stuff like checking the frame for rot, running a magnet on the sides to check for bondo & that. I'm just wondering if there are anything that comes to mind as a problem in Packards that I should look for.

It's a 1952 Packard 4-door. Images are below (sorry they're small. they're from it's posting online)

http://images.craigslist.org/3n23kf3p35Q25S35R499a0f7a7dbc01801510.jpg

http://images.craigslist.org/3n93p93l45O95Pd5R799ab892842256c21d1d.jpg

http://images.craigslist.org/3n63p53l35Qe5P95Ra99aff4b8a18faef1eef.jpg

Posted on: 2009/9/17 11:12
 Top  Print   

Re: Tips at buying a Packard
Home away from home
Home away from home

Gerard O'Keefe
See User information
Appears to be the bottom of the line model 200.It should have a 288 cid straight eight with solid lifters.If it has Ultramatic Transmission, you will want to make sure that the trans shifts smoothly.These can be costly to repair.These are nice cars but do not have much value so make sure that it is a solid car that will not require an arm and a leg to repair.

Posted on: 2009/9/17 12:25
 Top  Print