Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
121 user(s) are online (87 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 121

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

New replacement radio for 55/56
Home away from home
Home away from home

Mathew Rattray
See User information
I thought this may be of some interest.

I had my wonderbar radio in and out that many times I am now a qualified professional at removing and reinstalling it. I would get it working on the bench and then put it in the car only for something to fail not long after,

So, is this a refurbished radio? No... This is a newly built from Vintage Auto Radio listed to suit a 1955 Chevrolet but is the same as a Packard. The radio came with Chev controls but I have been able to replace them with the original Packard knobs. It has AM/FM Bluetooth and an AUX input. Will post some photos once its installed but this is a great idea for anyone who wants a nice reliable radio in their 55 / 56 without the trouble of old components.

I utilized the original knobs. The only difference you will notice is the channel selector is black instead of the lighter white/grey color. Also the knobs stick out slightly further than the original. Though I am very happy with it and I think its a good solution if your radio isn't working.

It took 8 weeks for them to send it out, but its well worth the wait.

Attach file:

jpg  (39.97 KB)
24_57a49181558ea.jpg 960X540 px

jpg  (174.29 KB)
24_57a49190ceeb9.jpg 1920X1080 px

Posted on: 2016/8/5 8:16
 Top  Print   

Re: New replacement radio for 55/56
Forum Ambassador