Happy Easter and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
100 user(s) are online (65 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 99

‘29 633 Mel, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

Electrical System Frustration
Quite a regular
Quite a regular

Andy Mylin
See User information
Hello folks,

I have questions about the electrical in my Pacific.

I have a 1954 Pacific. We tore a lot of it apart and reassembled it to get it back on the road. Ive been driving it for a few months locally. The problem is the battery seems to drain as I drive and I only get it to crank and start 4 or 5 times before needing to charge the battery.

Using a Volt meter the battery averages at about 6.25v When running the Generator doesn't charge the battery past 6.3x volts if at all.

I had the regulator replaced and checked as well as the generator. The generator on a bench being tested will output over 7 volts. The starter has been rebuilt. The battery is a two year old 6v Optima, also tested and confirmed to be good.

During June I'd drive the car, bring it home and place a battery charger on it so it'd be ready for the next trip. That worked fine.

Recently I realized that if I tried to start it after driving and it would drain enough to not turn over. But if left sit the battery seems to "recharge" after a few hours once the engine is cold and it would start up fairly easy.