Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
114 user(s) are online (80 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 112

pmhowe, packardsix1939, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 3 4 »

1956 Studebaker Golden Hawk
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

packard352
See User information
Hi,

I'm hoping that someone on this Forum might be able to help me...

I have been restoring a '56 Studebaker Golden Hawk for the past almost 5 years... in the UK.

I have both Packard 320" engine and Ultramatic trans from another car in the basement of my apartment in a very... very large wooden crate.

I have attached four photos of glimpses of the transmission in the box... plus the two last photos are of the unit that came from Houston.

In speaking with my workshop last week, the question passed to me from them was:-
"Hi Richard it looks as if picture 4 shows what might be a fluid flywheel or torque converter attached to the back of the engine ?
regards Paul"

I guess the question now begs; are Ultramatic transmission unit inter-changeable between Packard 320 and 352 engines? If they are, then I guess it could make sense to rebuild the torque converter from the unit in the box and swap it for the one on the car.

However, before I go the expense of hauling the large box down to the workshop, I would like to defer to the Group's knowledge and wisdom in case I'm about to waste a whole bunch of time... and money!

Thanks in advance for all comments, suggestions and help in advance!
Richard[/size]Hi,

I'm hoping that someone on this Forum might be able to help me...