Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
154 user(s) are online (101 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 152

DM37, happy, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

Temperature gage removal
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

scseidl
See User information
Working on my 1949 22 series club sedan and need to remove temp. gage. What is the best method to do this?

Posted on: 2014/4/8 16:53
 Top  Print   

Re: Temperature gage removal
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

James Kallman
See User information
I'm no expert, but here's what I did. First disconnect the positive cable from the battery. Then, when removing instruments from the panel it seems like one has to push the front seat all the way back and/or remove the bottom cushion. Then lay on your back and shinny up under the instrument panel. I temporarily taped a small flashlight to the side for extra light. I also had a work light hanging from under the dash. Then you can see the back of the gauges. Mark some masking tape with a "+" and another piece with a "-". Attach the tape to the wires. Take a couple of digital photos - one can never have too many of those.
Now disconnect the two wires from the back of the gauge. A magnetic tool is handy here so as not to lose the nut and washer. The gauge (if memory serves me well) is screwed to the instrument panel in the four corners of the gauge.
Crawl out from the car and soak your sore back in a hot tub.
Hope that gets it done for you!

Posted on: 2014/4/8 19:38
 Top  Print   

Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

HH56
See User information