Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
57 user(s) are online (41 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 57

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

1932 902 differential
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

Curtis Buck
See User information
Hi, My 1932 902 differential is leaking at the bolts that connect the front section to the center section. I tightened the bolts and it is still leaking. Is there supposed to be a gasket between the front and center sections of the differential? If so where do I go to get it? More importantly, is this an easy fix? I'm not a mechanic and am concerned that I might mess it up more by opening this up. Thanks for your help.

Posted on: 2011/9/18 23:45
Just something to do while I'm waiting for Jesus.
 Top  Print   

Re: 1932 902 differential
Home away from home
Home away from home

Tim Cole
See User information
Dear Curtis:

Yes there is supposed to be a gasket.

However, if you don't want to tear the whole car apart you can try the following stop gap method:

a) drain the differential oil and let unit drip over the a few weeks.

b) using pre-sol, scrapers, rags, etc clean the surfaces methodically.

c) apply a high quality silicone sealer around the joint and let cure over 24 hours.

d) make sure the vent is not clogged.

This might avoid removing the axles, drive shaft, etc etc to replace the gasket.

Good luck

Posted on: 2011/9/19 8:31
 Top  Print   

Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

Curtis Buck
See User information