Happy 4th of July and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
206 user(s) are online (91 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 206

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 3 4 »

Tips for moving a Patrician that has been parked for 35+ years?
Just popping in
Just popping in

Fibonachu
See User information
Just as background, I have been working on old cars/engines for 30+ years and have a complete shop, so I am not a novice as far as older vehicles are concerned. My daughter and I are just finishing up rebuilding a 58 Chevy truck so we need a new project.

My wife's great grandparents bought a 53 Patrician new and took a road trip to go pick it up from the factory. It has been sitting parked at their farm without being touched since sometime in the early 80s. No one in the family can really remember exactly when it got parked. I have the opportunity to buy it from the great-uncle that currently owns it and am planning to pick it up this weekend.

My question here is if there are any special tips/tricks for moving it safely? Given how long it has been sitting, I expect the drums all the way around to be frozen. My intention is to winch it up onto a trailer to get it home and tinker on it there.

From looking at the manual for the ultramatic, I think I should be able to just put it in neutral to let it roll. Is that correct? There seem to be a lot of unusual things about that transmission that I don't fully understand yet, and I want to make sure that I am not going to do more harm than good trying to move it in neutral.