Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
222 user(s) are online (124 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 221

BigKev, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

« 1 (2) 3 »

Re: Rear cam journal diameter?
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Owen_Dyneto
See User information
Perhaps I should be ashamed to admit it, but I don't install and burnish my own piston pin bushings so I have no experience burnishing them; I typically take the rods to a machine shop for straightening and aligning, and have them install the bushings and pins.

Re the "undersize/oversize" comment, of course it's a foible of our lingo. When the crank journal is turned undersize, then the corresponding new bearing must be oversized (thicker) to fit an undersize journal, yet we typically call the bearing undersize meaning that it's not undersize itself but for an undersize application. Unfortunately for some of us (no names), overweight and underweight within the context of body mass doesn't present the same mixed message.

Posted on: 2008/7/15 9:05
 Top  Print   

Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Randy Berger
See User information
Owen, you need to be careful talking with your tongue planted so firmly in your cheek. You're sure to bite yourself someday.
Undersized in Irwin

Posted on: 2008/7/15 9:31
 Top  Print   

Home away from home
Home away from home

PackardV8
See User information
LOOK AT the 55-56 parts catalouge. section 5.0401 and 5.0402 crank bearings. I did not bother to look at rod bearings. THE PACKARD part catalouge refers to UNDERsize ONLY.