Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
204 user(s) are online (131 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 204

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

Fuel Issue / 58 Packard
Quite a regular
Quite a regular

Rollerball
See User information
Hello All!

Newbie here dealing with a pesky problem with a fuel pump. Issue started after shortly bringing the car home.

Car sitting on a slight sloped driveway would not pull fuel up to the carburetor. The mechanical fuel pump marked ( 4227 62) was on the car. Replaced with another mechanical fuel pump would still not pull fuel.

The only way to car to start was to bottle feed down carb. Once started could idle in driveway for over in hour . Go to takeoff and the car would need fuel . Eventually it would run for about 30 mins then stall and stop pumping fuel. Decided to purchase an electric I fuel pump and mounted as close to the tank as possible . Got about 20 miles out of pump and it would pull any fuel up to carburetor .

After this issue dropped the tank and cleaned it not much debris in tank and the pickup tube was clean. With the hose attached to steel fuel line can blow air through to the tank. Can also blow air from one end of the line to the other . Replaced the rubber hoses. The only thing left would be the steel lines . Is it possible that my steel lines could bad? The only way I can get the new pump to pull fuel is to run a long rubber fuel hose from fuel tank directly up to the carburetor .

I'm very new here asking to learn!

Thanks!

Posted on: 2023/11/20 14:19
 Top  Print