Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
206 user(s) are online (126 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 206

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

My 1929 640 has no thermostat, is this correct???
Quite a regular
Quite a regular

DaveSmith
See User information
Hello all, the top radiator hose on my 29 popped so i took it off to replace it and when i looked in the Thermostat housing i noticed there is no thermostat. given that i am new to cars made before 1950 should there be a thermostat or were they not in use at this early a time? if there is supposed to be one where can i find the correct one to install.

thanks, Dave

Posted on: 2010/7/28 15:22
 Top  Print   

Re: My 1929 640 has no thermostat, is this correct???
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Owen_Dyneto
See User information
What you think is a thermostat housing is just a simple hose connection. You should have a thermostat in the top radiator tank that controls the radiator shutters. They control temperature by regulating the amount of airflow thru the radiator. Very common arrangement on older cars, and on Packard (some models) thru 1942. Often called a Pines Winterfront.

Posted on: 2010/7/28 15:40
 Top  Print   

Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

Jim Eubanks
See User information