Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
214 user(s) are online (125 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 213

Ozstatman, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 3 »

Proper fuel flow
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

50Cal
See User information
I am new to my '50 Eight and have no baseline yet to gauge correct fuel flow to the carb. A shed rescue, the entire fuel system needed to be repaired/replaced, tank cleaned and recoated, entire new lines, rebuilt carb and pump,in-line filter. With all work completed the engine seems to be starving for gas when accelerating, under any load, and when 45 mph is reached it balks. The clear in-line filter shows just a a small amount of gas in the filter. I am used to other cars i have had that kept the filter full while running. Is this meager about of fuel in the filter normal for this car or are there other places I should be looking like the carb (Carter 2-barrel with starter)?

Cal

Posted on: 2016/7/2 0:02
 Top  Print   

Re: Proper fuel flow
Home away from home
Home away from home

Ross
See User information
Most of my inline filters when mounted on the pressure side show a large bubble while running. Mount a tee in the line after the filter and make sure you are getting 3-5 psi while running.

The next two likely culprits are the screen which is under the 3/4" brass cap on the top of the carb, or that the float level is set waaaaay too low. Also make sure your metering rods are hooked up and are moving up and down freely.

Posted on: 2016/7/2 8:45
 Top  Print   

Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

HH56