Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
246 user(s) are online (146 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 246

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 3 4 5 »

Still have fuel problems
Home away from home
Home away from home

WILLIS BIRKS
See User information
I have been fighting fuel supply problems for a couple of months on my 54 Clipper. I have the tank redone and installed it with new fuel lines. I had problems with the engine stalling or running out of gas while idling. I changed fuel filters and still the same problem. I have the tank redone and installed it. I had the fuel pump rebuilt a Gould and installed. Still I don't get enough flow(the filter has fuel going into it , very little. I cleaned the screen in the carb, but it had no residue in it. I filled the tank so the level would be higher than the pick up tube and still not enough fuel. I even put the fuel line to the drain line on the tank and not enough fuel through the filter.
I took the fuel line off after the fuel pump and put the hose into a jug and cranked the engine, the pump put several ounces of fuel into the jug in 5 to 10 seconds.

So I thought what is happening between the fuel pump and the filter and carb. If it is not the filter what in the carb would restrict the flow?

Posted on: 2013/3/12 11:58
 Top  Print   

Re: Still have fuel problems
Webmaster
Webmaster

BigKev
See User information
Misadjusted float?

I believe there is a test in the service manual for measuring the expected fuel output of the pump.