Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
195 user(s) are online (128 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 5
Guests: 190

BigKev, Packard Don, Ross, TxGoat, tsherry, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

V8 Engine Idenification Help
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

ssaeger
See User information
I just purchased a Packard V8 to put into my 1949 Studebaker R5 and need some help identifying the engine. I am new to the Packard world so I am looking for some assistance.

I took the engine apart in my shop yesterday and cannot locate the engine id number. I have the cylinder head numbers which referenced the 1956 big valve head. There is a casting on the rear of the engine that is 101855 440971. The cylinder bore is 4.125 and the stroke is 3.5 which when looking up the Packard V8 information appears to be the 374 engine.

Any assistance that someone could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Steve

Posted on: 2009/8/2 8:35
 Top  Print   

Re: V8 Engine Idenification Help
Home away from home
Home away from home

PackardV8
See User information
It should be a 1956 374 V8. What is the number near the oil filler tube of the form 56nn-nnnn.

look at this for more info on engine numbers and pictures of number locationS:

https://packardinfo.com/xoops/html/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=2789&forum=14

Do u have the oil pan removed????? We need to discuss the oil pump as they were a weak spot in the engines.

Are u doing your own work or farming it out???

Posted on: 2009/8/2 9:09