Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
220 user(s) are online (141 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 219

kevinpackard, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

'56 license plate
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

Mrs. Amanda Burton
See User information
I'm sure this will be an easy one but keep in mind I've never done this before.
I bought a 1956 license plate for my Clipper. As I want to keep the car looking as original as possible I was thrilled that the plate colors for 56 match the colors of my car. The plate needs some help though. Any tips for removing the old paint and eliminating some of the surface rust. Preferably something that doesn't involve a sand blaster as I don't have one of those.

Posted on: 2010/4/2 12:02
 Top  Print   

Re: '56 license plate
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Owen_Dyneto
See User information
What's wrong with the old fashioned way? Chemical paint stripper, sand paper and wire brush to remove the rust, good coat of primer, and body putty like NitroStan to fill the depressions. Optionally a rust converter before priming.

Posted on: 2010/4/2 12:13
 Top  Print   

Home away from home
Home away from home

R Anderson
See User information
There's folks out there who will sand blast very cheaply, talk to auto shops in your area. Have to be careful with sheet metal, it can warp from heat as it is thin. Soda or bead blasting would be safest, they can do that too.

Posted on: 2010/4/2 13:40
56 Clipper Deluxe survivor
 Top  Print   

Home away from home
Home away from home

Kevin AZ
See User information