Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
148 user(s) are online (103 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 148

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

My cars history
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

edsrandr
See User information
I am new to Packard and this forum I just acquired a 1940 Packard 180 custom super 8 touring sedan 1351-2xxx car is in need of a major restoration. The vin. plate has the # on it but all of the other information has been faded off and it appears that the place of origin was never stamped. Is their a way to research a vehicles history or have all of the records been destroyed.

Posted on: 2016/11/16 13:25
 Top  Print   

Re: My cars history
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Owen_Dyneto
See User information
There is no single significant repository of original sales records; I have original sales data on perhaps 1000 cars between 1935 and 1950 and other such data collections may exist elsewhere in private hands. Some owners have been fortunate enough to find old documents in the car or from prior owners and reconstruct some history, and that's probably your best bet to start. Generally you can forget getting assistance from state motor vehicle agencies.

1940 was a curious year in that for a portion of the year the cars were not assigned a body serial number of "theft-proof" number. My files are indexed by theft-proof number and if your car has one, I'd be glad to see if I have anything one it - but don't hold your breath, the chances are very slim.

Posted on: 2016/11/16 14:34
 Top  Print   

Home away from home