Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
230 user(s) are online (145 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 4
Guests: 226

Packard Don, BigKev, Wat_Tyler, Ozstatman, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

Oil ports on starter, generator and water pump 1941 engine
Just popping in
Just popping in

Palmer
See User information
How much 30w oil do i put in the ports? Im a bit of a newbie and reading the original owners manual pointed out these ports and weight of oil. My question is: how much oil do i put in? Fill’er up or just a few drops?

Posted on: 2023/6/17 12:18
 Top  Print   
Like (1)

Re: Oil ports on starter, generator and water pump 1941 engine
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

HH56
See User information
On the starter and generator, just a few drops. The 55-6 manual says 5-10 on the generator and suspect earlier years would be the same. Use the lower amount on the rear or brush end cup because too much oil there can work its way out and deposit on the commutator causing issues. Don't forget the grease cup for the distributor shaft and bushing needs to be packed with cup grease and gets a half turn when you do a lube.

Others will need to comment on the water pump as the postwar pumps I am more familiar with have sealed bearings so no routine oil requirements.

Posted on: 2023/6/17 12:43
Howard
 Top  Print   

Just popping in
Just popping in

Palmer
See User information
Thanks Howard!!

Posted on: 2023/6/17 13:15
 Top  Print   

Home away from home
Home away from home

Bob J
See User information