Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
206 user(s) are online (139 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 204

kevinpackard, BDeB, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

Brakes Questions
Home away from home
Home away from home

jt fugere
See User information
55 Clipper... Done with the lowering and gonna tackle the brakes. Did a complete restore of a 55 400 so im assuming its very similar. I have the easamatic system. I have a new master cylinder, shoes and wheel cylinders. Can somebody elaborate on the functionality of the unit attached to the gas pedal. Is it basically an old school brake booster? How can i test it or inspect it? Thank you guys! Only other thing is im "plumbing" in line lock for the front but thats pretty standard on any brake system. Any advice is appreciated...

Posted on: 2010/4/12 12:20
 Top  Print   

Re: Brakes Questions
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

HH56
See User information
Am not aware of anything connected to gas pedal regarding brakes.

If you refer to the black canister between the master cylinder and brake pedal, then that is the vacuum booster portion. Aside from the lubricant getting sticky and preventing the return spring from functioning well, a hose disconnecting internally or fluid leaking in due to a bad seal on MC piston, very little usually goes wrong there.