Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
154 user(s) are online (107 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 154

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

29 standard 8 head gasket
Home away from home
Home away from home

29tons
See User information
I have a new copper head gasket for the engine should I put anything on it.I have been a mechanic for 30 years and have had no problems with fiber gaskets but had limited success with copper.the head will be surfaced and pressure checked before installtion.

Posted on: 2011/5/21 4:22
 Top  Print   

Re: 29 standard 8 head gasket
Home away from home
Home away from home

32model901
See User information
29tons,

I've had good results using a copper spray on both sides of the head gasket.

http://www.permatex.com/products/automotive/automotive_gasketing/gasket_sealants/auto_Permatex_Copper_Spray-A-Gasket_Hi-Temp_Adhesive_Sealant.htm

Regards,

Dave

Posted on: 2011/5/21 7:32
 Top  Print   

Home away from home
Home away from home

fred kanter
See User information
One of the big benefits stated for the copper spray is the dissipation of heat, copper is very good at that. But the head gasket surface is made of pure copper and you can't improve on that. The spray also fills small irregularities, but as far as I know, a small "chip" out of a block or head will not compromise the gasket. Teh main reasons for head gasket failure are a warped head and improper torquing, neither of which will be solved by a spray.