Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
182 user(s) are online (115 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 3
Guests: 179

azpack400, moodydavid16, dallas, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

Fueling 55-56 Packards
Home away from home
Home away from home

Kevin AZ
See User information
I have no experience in fueling any Packard older that a 1955, and in truth, I guess I need some more experience in this department. Without laughing out loud at me, does anyone else have a method to fuel these cars without the darn gas pushing back out under pressure as the tank nears capacity? I've tried the 'listening method', but fear I'll inhale some highly toxic carcinogen while my face is in that area. Also, many new pumps here have these 'talking' features that hock or sell carwashes and other items while the pump dispenses, making it difficult to hear anyway.

Thanks........thoughts appreciated.

Posted on: 2012/4/6 22:30
 Top  Print   

Re: Fueling 55-56 Packards
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

HH56
See User information
Prior to mid 51 there was a whistle soldered in the vent that would sound until the tank neared full. If you wanted to try and go back to something like that it might be possible to add one into the vent line again. There are boat whistleshttp://www.defender.com/product.jsp?path=-1|311|302335|7364|939822&id=848503 & it should be possible to remove a section of the vent higher up and plumb it in to get the angle they want. Between the whistle and the car, you'd certainly be the center of attention at the station.