Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
210 user(s) are online (130 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 209

kevinpackard, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

1927,526 Engine problems
Just popping in
Just popping in

KM
See User information
Hi my name is Mac, I'm very new to this, so bear with me thanks
I have a friend that has a 1927, 526 Packard .
It is a straight flat head, L Head, Six cylinder .
As he tries to accelerate the Engine, the RPM go's up very little and has very little power, I wish I could download a video you would really understand, what are the common problems that could be associated with this engine .
I will be down there on 10 February, I have never worked on his engine but I have worked on Model A ,1938 Cadillac , And also current 1960 cars .
If there's any probable cause to these engines, if you didn't mind give me some ideas so I would have a better solution to my friends problem .
Thanks again appreciate all the help
Mac😀🚀🇺🇸

Posted on: 2018/2/7 10:26
 Top  Print   

Re: 1927,526 Engine problems
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Owen_Dyneto
See User information
Hi Mac,

That engine is a fundamentally sound design with no inherent weaknesses, so I suggest you start with the usual things you'd check on any similar engine, start with diagnostics like compression and manifold vacuum. If that doesn't lead you to something specific, then continue on with the basics like checking ignition and ignition timing, valve timing, carburetion and fuel supply. Any obvious clues from the appearance of the spark plugs?