Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
57 user(s) are online (40 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 56

BigKev, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

Typographical error or intent?
Home away from home
Home away from home

Guscha
See User information
I have little experience with automatic transmissions - no wonder, in Europe these were taboo for a long time due to their hunger for energy. So I don't know if the following sentence from an operating manual is a misprint and I would like your advice:

"Avoid towing the vehicle at speeds below 25 km/h (15 mph)."

Does that make any sense?

Posted on: 2023/7/30 14:02
The story of ZIS-110, ZIS-115, ZIL-111 & Chaika GAZ-13 on www.guscha.de
 Top  Print   

Re: Typographical error or intent?
Home away from home
Home away from home

Bob J
See User information
I do not pretend to have any knowledge about Packard automatic transmissions, but I have done a lot of towing and we ALWAYS removed the drive shaft when pulling automatics. The concern was that they would not be properly lubricated as the pumps were from the drive end so having the back end turning from the rear wheels would cause bearing wear and overheating damage due to the lack of lubrication. I never towed one any other way to know if this was true or not, but it was a simple procedure to remove the drive shaft and be safe. Of course if you are using a Tip and Load type transport this is not necessary.
Cautiously yours,
Bob J.

Posted on: 2023/7/30 14:23
 Top  Print   

Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

HH56
See User information