Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
193 user(s) are online (111 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 3
Guests: 190

kevinpackard, Don B, Packard Don, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 3 »

Opinions on to Restore or Sell
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

Andy 41 Clipper
See User information
This is tough for me to consider but I am wondering if I took on more than I can handle. This is my first "classic car" and I am thinking I may have taken on to much of a project for my first one. I am 25 and love cars since a child this is my first project and I am trying to decide if I should do the restoration or sell it, cut my losses, and save for a further restored car. I appreciate you opinions this is a new world to me and I know many folks on this great site have a great deal of knowledge and experience with these great cars!

Andy

Posted on: 2013/4/29 8:16
 Top  Print   

Re: Opinions on to Restore or Sell
Home away from home
Home away from home

Tim Cole
See User information
Dear Andy:

1941 Clipper is one of my favorite Packards, but you have to be realistic. Most of these cars are a "buy and die" propostiton. That is, you'll have it for life.

A situation like yours, I wouldn't worry about restoration. Spruce it up if you can and if you don't like it sell it.

For these cars it is probably more constructive to plunk down the cash for a nice original and spend the money to properly maintain it. I've seen dozens and dozens of nice original cars turned into junk by collectors. Cases that wouldn't have required any restoration.