Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
223 user(s) are online (142 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 222

tsherry, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 3 »

Big bore
Home away from home
Home away from home

Anthony Pallett
See User information
I have decided that me and a calculator is a very dangerous combination. I was figuring out what cubic inch I would get with a .125 over bore in my 327. after I found the info I was looking for I started playing around with the numbers and discovered that with a 4 inch bore and a stock stroke the engine would be 427 cubic inch(feel free to check my math I might have done it wrong). I found this pretty interesting as a piston blank would probably be easier to come by and it seems that the a 4 inch bore would actually fit in the block in reference to bore spacing, valves water, jackets, head studs ect. I realize that the cylinder walls are no where near thick enough for this and sleeves would have to be used possibly leaving not much block left by the time the work was done. I haven't decided if I am brave enough to make the attempt right now I'm thinking no. I figured I would share what I thought was some pretty interesting information.

Posted on: 2013/5/7 4:59
 Top  Print   

Re: Big bore
Home away from home
Home away from home

Jack Vines
See User information
Yes, the math works.