Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
259 user(s) are online (131 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 257

Packard Don, flopperwatcher, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 3 4 »

Oil Pressure and...
Just popping in
Just popping in

JFH
See User information
I'm fairly new to Packrad ownership and have aquired a '52 with a 300 8(327).
The car sat for many many years but after some minor tinkering I got it running. I dropped the pan and cleaned everything including the pickup screen. I'm running straight 30w.
At idle I have only 20lbs oil pressure and it does not rise when I bring the revs up. After a few minutes of running (and coming up to operating temp) the motor starts to "clack", I removed the side covers and noted that there was only one oil journal pushing oil.(the flow seemed a bit weak to me)
Does this indicate a weak oil pump? Clogged journals? It seems highly unlikely that every one of the journals would be plugged. How much oil pressure should I have at idle, the motor manual I have says 40lbs at 30mph, but I can't take the car up to that speed at this time.
Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Again I'm new to Packard but fairly mechanical. I understand that the oil pump has a built in regulator that cannot be adjusted?
Thank you in advance.

Posted on: 2009/6/28 16:11
 Top  Print   

Re: Oil Pressure and...
Webmaster
Webmaster

BigKev
See User information
How is your Oil Filter plumbed? Have you checked the filter?