Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
247 user(s) are online (163 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 3
Guests: 244

dallas, Bob J, Ozstatman, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

'32 Light Eight Sedan - New Member
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

mcsilves
See User information
I'm new to this, guidance appreciated! Just purchased a '32 Light Eight Sedan, ALL original except tires & radiator. Drives great (needs shock work), everything works including automatic clutch! Getting to know her, have tons of questions. First set:
1) Am I OK using regular gas?
2) What is the best oil & viscosity (heard abour Classic Car Oil w/additive)?
3) It currently has a Purolator PER 1/2 oil filter. I have an original EF-2 from a previous car (that I expect is not usable), does it have value or do I just get a replacement from Ripey or Anzalone?
4) Need replacement right tailight stanchion (license plate post broken), are they available? What about the left optional tailight and mounting bracket?
Will also be joining local & national clubs. Any help is appreciated!

Posted on: 2011/6/2 21:56
 Top  Print   

Re: '32 Light Eight Sedan - New Member
Home away from home
Home away from home

Brians51
See User information
You should be fine with reg gas. Packard motors of your vintage used lower octane than current fuels.As for oil I like the oil with additive (30 wt) It may or may not be a personal preference.I am not sure.Others here may have different opinions, To me its cheep insurance. Make sure you drop the oil pan and clean first. BHW

Posted on: 2011/6/2 22:04