Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
191 user(s) are online (126 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 191

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

oil type?
Just popping in
Just popping in

Ironsloth
See User information
I'm new to Packard's, but very excited. I recently purchased my grandfathers 56 clipper super.It has 52,000 original miles, but hadnt been started since 69.Until now. I have an old friend that has experiene restoring old cars, but he hasn't done one since the 70's. I have the first few quention's. Should I flush the engine with a flush you can buy at the store? What type of oil should I use? I've heard of oil with or without conditioners? Should I use lead substitute in the fuel? What octane? Tranny fluid?

So far I have had to swap out the radiator and fuel tank.
I got her running and she actually runs very well.

I have a million more question's and look forward to speeking and getting to know other Packard lover's.

Thank you,

Posted on: 2011/11/20 1:55
 Top  Print   

Re: oil type?
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Ozstatman
See User information
G'day Ironsloth,
to PackardInfo and congratulations on the purchase of your grandfather's '56 Super Clipper. In regard to your questions I'll leave that to the experienced and knowledgeable Packard V8 guys to respond. However I did find a FAQ titled ULTRAMATIC: What Fluid to Use on Site, which should be helpful. And I invite you to include your '56 Super Clipper in the Packard Owner's Registry here on PackardInfo.

Posted on: 2011/11/20 2:18
Mal
/o[]o\
====