Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
115 user(s) are online (59 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 114

Gary Kulp, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

Hood Emblem
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

rhlevine
See User information
This is my first try at this so I'll make this question simple. My family just shocked me with a 1952 Packard 300 4-door sedan as a birthday present. It needs a good bit of work but I'll hold off on that stuff until I am more familiar with this process. So..... question for today- Is the hood ornament a swan, cormorant or ......... ?

rhlevine

Posted on: 2012/4/26 18:26
 Top  Print   

Re: Hood Emblem
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

HH56
See User information
Welcome, Congratulations and Happy Birthday. I think that is one of those questions liable to get many opinions. It has been called a Swan, Cormorant, Pelican & probably others. The Packard Club official publications are The Cormorant and The Cormorant News Bulletin if that helps any.

Posted on: 2012/4/26 18:54
Howard
 Top  Print   

Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Randy Berger
See User information
The Cormorant is a dirty black bird, BUT its name sounds more elegant than a Pelican. On the Packard coat-of-arms the bird is described as "a Pelican in her piety". I personally always thought it was a swan because of the graceful rendering of it as a beautiful hood ornament.
Whatever you want to call it, it remains a signature symbol of Packard. It's your car and your ornament. Use whichever name you like best.

Posted on: 2012/4/26 19:44