Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
206 user(s) are online (126 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 206

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 »

1939 Packard Six Model 1700-1282
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

JIMO
See User information
I am new to packardinfo. I am restoring a 1939 six - 4-door, the exhaust flange gasket supplied to me by Kantar has approx. a 2 inch inside diam., the exhaust pipe has an outside diam. of 1 3/4 inch, therefore, the gasket floats around the pipe and won't fit into the exhaust manifold- Kanter insists this is the right part - any experience with this problem ????

Posted on: 2013/7/22 10:39
 Top  Print   

Re: 1939 Packard Six Model 1700-1282
Home away from home
Home away from home

Tim Cole
See User information
If the inside diameter of the exhaust manifold is consistent and the parts all go together then I would call them back and tell them they must be making a mistake.

There is one number for the Six and one number for the Eight.

Posted on: 2013/7/22 13:27
 Top  Print   

Home away from home
Home away from home

39SixSedanMan
See User information
JIMO,
I am not sure I can answer your question about the exhaust flange, but on my 39 six sedan, the tail pipe is flared outward such that the gasket fits between the widened flare and the exhaust manifold. Then, the two bolts pull up the circular bracket to sandwich the gasket. So, the diameter is that of the flare. DOes this make sense?

I love my 39 six sedan, restored everything on it myself, with the exception of the paint. It is a great car.