Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
126 user(s) are online (68 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 126

more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

(1) 2 3 »

1930 740 Phaeton serial numbers
Just popping in
Just popping in

jackjrp
See User information
Hi Guys,

I'm new to the wonderful world of Packards but not the car hobby. I'm looking at a 740 Phaeton that a gentlemen might be willing to part with but I'm not clear about several things: 1) the "Engine Serial Number Reference(PDF)" posted on the website seems to suggest that the engine serial numbers for 740s should all be in the 179001-184501 range but the 1930 edition of "Information on Packard Motor Cars" page 38 states that the 740 and motor and vehicle serial number range is 179,001-188,000. Can anyone shed light on which is correct or if I'm misinterpreting something? Reason I ask is that the engine serial number of the 740 I'm looking at begins with 185XXX so I'm concerned that it's not the original engine., 2) My second question is how closely should the serial numbers on the motor, steering gear, frame, rear axle,etc. match? None of the numbers on this car match but everything is in the 184467-185059 range (except for the transmission with begins 326xxx so it's obviously a 8th series swap).

Thanks in advance for your input!
Jack

Posted on: 2016/2/15 18:17
Looking for a brass era Packard or possibly a 740/745. New to Packards but have been a car lover my whole life.
 Top  Print   

Re: 1930 740 Phaeton serial numbers
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

Owen_Dyneto
See User information