Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
123 user(s) are online (83 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 122

Joe, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

The Final Answer...
Home away from home
Home away from home

Packard Newbie
See User information
Hi All,

I have been posting for a couple of years now and have been trying to figure out what is wrong with my '39 Six, which has exhibited a chronic stalling issue since I bought it in early 2016. Not being a mechanic and not being able to find competent help, living in a rural area, I have engaged in the age-old 'trial and error' approach, replacing virtually everything under the hood but the engine. Different so-called 'mechanics' have run various engine 'health' tests on the motor, one being a compression test and I took their 'supposed' findings at face value. I was told the cylinders tested all the same and all were in and around 100/105#'s compression. Although this a bit low, I thought it was just an old motor with some wear and that the problem must be ulterior to the motor. I eventually gave up and decided to pull the block out and have it professionally rebuilt. The rebuilders findings were quite stark. They said it looked like the engine had been properly rebuilt many years ago, with a .30 thou over-bore and new standard shells and mains. Then, also, quite some time ago, the motor was the victim of a 'backyard rebuild' that was a little short of murder in the 1st degree. One cylinder had piston clearance of .45 thou with high to extreme wear on the others. The tech said, it was virtually impossibl