Hello and welcome to Packard Motor Car Information! If you're new here, please register for a free account.  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
FAQ's
Main Menu
Recent Forum Topics
Who is Online
126 user(s) are online (65 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 3
Guests: 123

733SKT, CartRich, Kiwi Lad, more...
Helping out...
PackardInfo is a free resource for Packard Owners that is completely supported by user donations. If you can help out, that would be great!

Donate via PayPal
Video Content
Visit PackardInfo.com YouTube Playlist

Donate via PayPal

car will not start
Just popping in
Just popping in

jim.p
See User information
I am new to packard info but i was told somebody may be able to answer a question for me.I have a 54 packard clipper that used to start up first time,every time.But after awhile it started taking a little longer to start.Every time i tried to start it, it would take a little longer.It got to the point where it was taking 5 to 10 minutes to start.It turned over good but it took forever to start.Then finally it would not start at all.It would not even try to start.I am getting good spark from the plugs,it has good compression,and i can see the gas going into the carburetor.Just to be safe i took the gas tank down and cleaned it out,blew the lines out, and changed the gas filter.and put in new gas,Still it will not try to start.I replaced the plugs, points,condenser and coil. I thought something might be blocking the gas from going into the pistons so i took the intake manifold off but could not find anything in there.I had the head off awhile back and the last 4 cylinders seemed to be dry but what could stop the gas from going into the cylinders? If anybody might have any suggestions i will welcome them. thank you jim

Posted on: 2012/11/12 19:51
 Top  Print   

Re: car will not start
Forum Ambassador
Forum Ambassador

HH56
See User information